Main Menu

Sadev

Started by Roy Eastwood, December 29, 2017, 16:21:11

Previous topic - Next topic

Roy Eastwood

Just noticed that SADEV sequential gearboxes for BMW motor in 2cv are available at the pre-increase price of just €8000.00 + vat until 8th Jan 2018, OUCH. See the 2cvrt facebook page.

wilbot

Hi Roy it's good to see that you are considering the cost's of building a BMW Hybrid. No need to buy a Sadev or similar expensive gearbox. The 2CV box is a bit stretched coping with the BMW's grunt and work is still going on to cure the problems that arise. Your comment has drawn me to expose my solution that I have been working on for a couple of months a little before I wanted to, however here go's. The answer lies in your local car knacker yard VW Passat or Audi 5 & 6 speed gearboxes for about £50 are easily available a bit of thought and a friendly machinist can turn the box from out board disc braked to inboard disc and a bit of dexterity with the grinder can turn it from a forward facing starter motor to the conventional 2CV position. The mod also gives the opportunity to modify the other weak link in the drive train the drive shafts but we will save that for another day.

I know the club only let us race in Europe but I never fell for Boris's bollocks about a hospital a week any way.

Pictures attached

Roy Eastwood

Interesting conversion Colin, will save 2cv gearbox failure at Spa etc. for sure.

wilbot

We should make that a maybe Roy I've not tried it yet. On the drive shaft front SOME Vauhall Corsa outer's have bigger ball's and the same spline so logic say's they should ? be stronger. 

Francis Rottenburg

Can I say with the greatest of admiration and all the best wishes for the New Year to all the 2cv addicts out there - you are completely and utterly bonkers!!  Love this stream of madness.  Xx

Nick Roads