Main Menu

Jon Davis’s Car

Started by Richard Knight, August 28, 2018, 20:18:09

Previous topic - Next topic

Richard Knight

So today I bought Jon Davis's old race 2cv. It's in a pretty bad shape but hope to get it built for next season.

So I apologise now for asking any stupid questions as I will no doubt need advice, help etc in the coming months.

I'm not a mechanic but have been around these cars since I was 17. I intend to enter the Eco class.

My first job will be to repair the body as I think it will need floors, sills, front bulkhead, bonnet hinge, inner rear wings.

On the plus side it does have a roll cage and roof !

Any offers of help with welding would be most welcome!

Thanks

Rich
Richard Knight

Richard Knight

So first question

What size fire extinguisher do I need. It's a bit vague in the blue book.

Cheers
Rich

Chris Yates

First, you need floors to mount the extinguisher to ;)

On a more helpful note, you're gonna need an FIA system when it's all ready. Something like this: https://www.advantage-motorsport.co.uk/car-prep/fire-extinguishers/plumbed-in-fire-extinguishers/mechanical/lifeline-zero-2000-4-0ltr-mechanical-fire-marshal.html would be good.

Richard Knight

Thanks guys.

Picked up the car today......lots and lots of work needed!

Would post a picture, but not sure how to do it.

Rich

Richard Knight

Richard Knight

All

I am unfortunately writing this having been very unwell for the last month.