• Oulton Park 2014
  • Oulton Park 2014
  • Oulton Park 2014
  • Oulton Park 2014

Oulton Park 2014

13515542893_4703aa26cf_oAfter a slightly damp start to qualifying, the sun came out for the 2 championship races and one extra non-championship race at Oulton Park in Cheshire. 25 cars took to the track for race one, with Pete Sparrow in pole, having dominated (by a clear 2 seconds) a greasy early morning qualifying session.

Sparrow led the race from start to finish, but up at the front the main battle was between Neil Savage, Richard Lambert and George Russell, with Mike Fox also in the mix. The race for 2nd place was eventually won by Neil Savage on the track, but a 5 second penalty for exceeding the track limits meant Savage was demoted to 3rd. George Russell, debuting in the Gadget team for this race in order to earn some signatures on his racing licence, took 2nd place, and Mike Fox finished a very respectable 4th. After initially fighting for second place, Richard Lambert eventually finished in 6th place, behind Matt Hollis in 5th.

13515585563_631b9560de_oFor the second race qualifying session, Peter Rundle took over the 97 Fine Print car from Pete Sparrow, and kept the name ‘Pete’ at the top of the timing sheets by putting the car on pole. Only 24 cars took part this time as Nigel Hollis’ car was not ready for the session. Rundle got a great start and never looked like losing the lead, but Simon Clarke in the #6 car was snapping at his heels pretty much all race. 3rd place was more hotly contested between Sammie Frichley and Matt Lambert (taking over from his father, Richard) – eventually going the way of Lambert, and George Russell was again making his presence felt in 5th, before dropping to 7th, promoting Matt Hollis to 5th and Tom Perry to 6th.


The 3rd race was again dominated by the name ‘Pete’, with Rundle taking top spot once again in qualifying. However, he elected to start flat last and work his way to the front for this non-championship race, managing to make the lead by the end of lap 2. Chris Yates, who had led the race early doors, slipped into 3rd, and finally down to 5th after some brake problems and running out of talent. Mike Fox started 4th and got into 3rd, scrapping with Matt Lambert who eventually finished ahead in 2nd. Kris Tovey started 2nd but slipped back to 4th right behind Fox, and Matt Hollis rounded up the train for 3rd place, back in 6th. But the day belonged to Peter Rundle and Pete Sparrow, sharing the #97 Fine Print car, which earned pole and won every race.

13515477445_34c863e169_oClick here to download the full results sheet from TSL timing, in PDF format.

Some Flickr sets from the race day:

Join us next time for 2 races at Croft Circuit near Darlington, sure to be a great weekend’s racing!

Related Posts